Any bigshot cigar smokers here ?

• I smoked exactly one cigar in my life. When I graduated highschool, I bought a Cuban cigar. It was a Tueros... They'd come in a box of about 25 from Cuba, and each one was in an individual sealed aluminum tube. In Canukistan, cuban cigars were (and still are) available everywhere. Was it a big deal cigar ? I doubt it. I probably paid under $3 for it, but that was a long ass time ago. It was probably the lowest Cuban cigar on the market - you could buy them everywhere, like every corner store. Mass market, ubiquitous... lowest common denominator.

Also, cigars were definitely not cool back then. It's something rough and tough old men did.

Anyways, I went to a local bar by myself. Everyone there were adult, barflies (like over 40. Old people)... it was kind of a dive place The legal age to drink was 18, so I was ok (barely). The regulars were pretty friendly and during small talk I told them I came to have a drink and a cigar because I graduated high school. They all started buying me drinks (cheap drafts - like $1 ea), and I finally got the courage to pull out my pocket knife, cut the back off like I saw people do in movies, and lit that fucker up.

I was never a smoker. Never cared for it, and also I had asthma - not bad mind you, but smoking definitely brought it on if I inhaled. I knew just enough to know you didn't inhale cigars or pipes. My old man smoked a pipe in the very old days, and he let me know this. He always pressed on me that cigarettes (coffin nails) were bad, but the odd pipe or cigar was ok (extreme moderation - like one a month tops), just never inhale.